On Sunday, October 27, 2019, a 15-year-old boy was arrested after allegedly hitting a parked pickup truck. The incident happened near Sixth Avenue and Vancouver Street.
No one was in the truck when the boy struck it.
The teen was allegedly under the influence at the time of the accident. He was taken to the Kennewick juvenile detention center.
Washington’s Underage DUI Law
As with other states, in Washington, it’s illegal for a person to drive under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol. Regardless of age, the individual could be charged with a DUI if the amount of an intoxicated in their system affects their ability to drive safely.
A person could also be arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence if their blood alcohol concentration is above the legal limits. According to RCW 46.61.503, for anyone 21 years of age or under, having a BAC of .02% or above is unlawful.
Additionally, if a blood analysis determines that a person under 21 years of age had a THC concentration of 0.00 or higher within 2 hours after driving, they could be charged with a DUI.
A minor DUI is a misdemeanor, and penalties could include, but are not limited to:
- Up to 90 days in jail
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- Driver’s license suspension
- Ignition interlock device installation
Need Legal Representation? Call Dichter Law Office, PLLC.
If you or your child was charged with a DUI, with the help of a skilled lawyer, you may be able to fight the accusations. Our attorneys are committed to providing dedicated defense and working toward a favorable outcome in your case.
Discuss your situation during a free consultation by calling us at (425) 296-9358 or contacting us online.